Birthday Feast at Firefly Grill

firefly grill
It was that time of year again. Time to make a special reservation at a new restaurant to mask the fact that I am yet another year older. The tradition came about by accident and began the year I turned 30. Indulging in the rich smells and invigorating atmosphere of the newest eatery seemed to ease the blow of becoming 30. This year I decided to invite a few friends along to celebrate with us.

I was reading Illinois Magazine back in December when an American roadhouse in Effingham named Firefly Grill caught my eye. After reading about the owners and seeing their accolades, I immediately thought of it for my yearly birthday feast. I liked the look of the elevated comfort food and the prices seemed reasonable for a special occasion. I made my reservations a few weeks later.

This year my birthday feast turned into a bit of a road trip, (firefly grill is an hour and a half from home) so we recruited our friends Wes and Kaneesha to come along on our joyful eating excursion. The trip was quick with friends to keep us company and before we knew it we were driving up to the large barn exterior of the Firefly Grill. I liked the blue lighting on the outside, it makes the building look elegant and modern.

Once on the inside we were greeted warmly by the hostess. She promptly ushered us to our table by the back windows and I commented on how I would love to sit on the big deck during the spring and summer months. Our waiter was timely and greeted us with an air of ease and friendliness. We ordered chocolate martini’s for the girls and domestic beers for the boys while we perused the appetizers. I already had my whole meal planned out of course. I always check out the menus online beforehand out of sheer anticipation and excitement! My husband and I decided on shrimp cocktail, which we soon found out was $3.50 a shrimp and not $3.50 for an order (normally 5-6 shrimp right??). The shrimp was so meaty and sweet and fresh I wish I could have ordered 12!! My friends and I also shared made to order onion rings which were crispy and not too oily. I enjoyed the fact that the rings came with three house made sauces. The hit of the appetizers was the spinach and goat cheese salad with fried goat cheese on the side. My friends told me it was fresh, well dressed, and the goat cheese was soft on the inside and crunchy on the outside. Lastly we got the Dungeness crab purses, which my husband told me were his favorite part of the meal.
1424516_10202266068926523_1871893374_n

After we finished our appetizers and ordered another round of drinks we decided on our entrees. While we waited for our meal a loaf of crusty french bread was brought to the table along with an olive oil, herb and balsamic vinegar dipping sauce. It was divine!
photo 2 1.41.59 PM
The main course was brought out hot and in a timely manner. My husband and I decided on the eye of rib or rib eye steak with compound herb butter a micro green salad and garlic mashed potatoes. The rib eye was cooked to a perfect medium rare and had a nice crust on the outside. The beef was tender and fresh. The richness of the herb butter really added to the (my) mouth-watering experience. I also enjoyed the bite of vinegar from the dressed salad of micro greens placed on top of the meat.
photo 1.42.01 PM
Kaneesha had the liver and onions and was not disappointed. She described the liver as melt in your mouth and flavorful. It must have been because when I turned to look at her plate, it was empty. Wes had the cheddar polenta and mushroom ragu with braised pork shank. Wes described the pork as falling off the bone and delicious. He also had a clean plate that evening.
photophoto 3
Last but certainly not least was dessert! I got a brownie sundae that was dressed table side. My hubby got a beautiful tiramisu that was presented in a lovely dessert glass and garnished with chocolate shavings. Our friends got a Belgian waffle with fresh fruit and house made whipped cream. The brownie was gooey, chocolatey and rich, dressed with house made whipped cream, chocolate covered peanuts, chocolate and caramel sauce. Amazing!! The waffle while yummy was nothing special unfortunately.

Overall we had a wonderful experience! The food was high quality and thoughtful and the staff was kind and courteous. It was definitely worth the trip! We’ll all go back again for sure!

1607110_10202266068126503_1297371916_n1173714_10202266066526463_1983684782_n

Firefly Grill
1810 Ave of Mid America Effingham, IL
62401
217-342-2002

Price Rating: $$$

19 Comments Add yours

  1. ang says:

    I don’t eat out much, but it sounds like an awesome place to eat. The atmosphere alone makes me want to go. Thanks for sharing

    1. Thank you for reading my blog!! Yes the atmosphere is wonderful. The decor is cool too! The chef and his wife incorporated large portraits of their family and even used the family’s scottish tartan to curtain the private event room. Check back for more posts! 🙂

  2. Dennis F Potten says:

    Good first work Rebecca! I’m proud of you. My only suggestions, of which you requested, is to separate the blog into paragraphs. Also, american in the sixth sentence should be capitalized (American). Keep up the good work. I’m eager for the next entry in your blog!

    1. Thanks Dad! I’m so glad you liked it!! I separated the paragraphs but when I posted it, it just blobbed it together. Ah well, I’ll keep working on it. 🙂

      1. Dennis F Potten says:

        Yea, it appears you need to separate each paragraph with TWO returns, not just one. You’ll get it. It’s wonderful!

  3. Diana Spanninger says:

    Sounds delicious – even though it was a LOT of food for one meal. Keep writing about food and I can enjoy through your palate.

    1. Thank you for reading my post!! ❤

  4. Got it! Thanks so much Dad!! 😀

  5. Rosellen says:

    Welcome to the Blogosphere, Becca! I’ve heard great things about the Firefly Grill, but we haven’t been there yet. Your experience will hasten our trying it!

  6. Corey says:

    We’ll done on the descriptives. This place is must foe any that live close. Great service great food excellent atmosphere. They can accommodate larger parties as we’ll. can’t wait to go back in the spring when it’s warmer. Love you honey keep up the good work

    1. Thanks honey! I love you so much!!

  7. Corey says:

    We’ll = well
    Foe = for

    Darn auto correct

    1. Well said my love. Haha!!

  8. Beth says:

    Hey Becca! Love your blog! Might I suggest you include average entree prices also? Great job!

    1. Thanks Beth! Great suggestion!

  9. Nancy says:

    This is a really fun place to go and even better in nice weather. You can walk out on the deck over the pond and feed the massive amount of fish just waiting for you. It’s like a place we go every year in Florida! Another great aspect of the place is the concert venue next door. We’ve seen so many great classic groups there. It’s not huge and the price is good. Also the atmosphere of the Firefly is awesome. It’s a beautiful rustic-looking place in an almost field-like setting (with the pond too!).

  10. Kaneesha Poynter says:

    We had a great time! It was worth the trip

    1. I’m so glad you guys could join us. We had a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

