Birthday Bread

Image

My birthday was in January and I had a fabulous birthday feast with friends. After the festivities ended life got back to normal and I was again another year older. All of that self pity and sadness melted away the day that my birthday bread arrived! I remember opening the box and unwrapping the sweet surprise within. Once the package was unwrapped I laid it on the table and just gazed for a moment…but just a moment. It was time to eat! The smell of lemon and poppyseed wafted through the air as I ran to get the bread knife. As I sliced up the moist yellow bread, my mouth began to water.

Image

Every year my sister Becky whips me up a loaf of Lemon-Almond Poppyseed Bread with Orange Glaze. She got the recipe from my favorite pie shop in town which has since closed. Now she has her own version of the bread and I’m lucky enough to have it baked for me every year. The only time I’ve gotten this bread on an event other than my birthday was the day I gave birth to my son. It’s sort of unspoken that I’ll get another for my next child. Yesss!

When my birthday rolls around next year I’ll send my Birthday Bread pan back to Memphis to await another beautiful lemon-almond creation!
With my sis’ permission I’m honored to share this special recipe with you. Please let me know how yours turns out!

Image

Becky’s Lemon-Almond Poppyseed Bread with Orange Glaze

Mix together

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 1/2 cups oil
  • 2 tbsp poppy seeds
  • juice and zest of one lemon
  • 2 tsp vanilla and almond extract
  • 2 tsp of butter flavor (you can use just butter)
  • 2 tsp lemon extract (optional)

The add:

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 1/2-2 3/4 cups sugar (personal preference)
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • a touch of salt

Mix ingredients and beat well. Pour batter into greased and floured mini pans or 2 large bread pans. Bake at 350 degrees F for 50 minutes to an hour.

Orange Glaze

in a sauce pan combine:

  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon of butter
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract

Bring the mixture to a boil. Then reduce to simmer and let bubble for 5 min. Brush onto the bread while both are hot. Cool…or not…and enjoy!

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. dfpotten says:

    Wow! You’re getting good at this – Looks Yummy!

  2. Diana Spanninger says:

    Sound great! I love lemon. Thanks for posting.

  3. I have had this lemon bread and it is delicious! Very fresh lemon taste. Love it.

  4. Great page! The bread looks glorious. How much love in a loaf. Congratulations!

  5. Brooke Mullins says:

    Thanks for the recipe! I can’t wait to try it! Sounds delicious!

    1. You’re so welcome! Let me know how it turns out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

