Alabama Vacation: Portabella’s

It was valentine’s day afternoon and even better it was just the two of us. My hubby and I walked hand in hand as we enjoyed the sublime feeling of Gulf Coast winds and warm sun on our faces. We were in search of a local eatery to appease our growling stomachs. We had almost given up when a black awning and large black sign caught our eye. The sign read Portabella’s and being one who loves Portabella’s we decided to give it try. Yes, I know my reasoning lacked thought and complexity, but I was hungry!
IMG_0390
We walked through the door and the most amazing smell of freshly cooked pizza crust and tomato sauce filled my senses. I knew right away that I would be getting pizza. The server greeted us with a big smile the minute we stepped through the door and was very courteous. I felt like I was being welcomed into someone’s home. A table was quickly cleared for us and we sat down to study our menus. With all the glorious smells flying around the place I was eager to see what they had to offer.
IMG_0391
They have an Italian influenced menu with starters such as stuffed portabella mushroom with artichoke, parmesan and breadcrumbs, and breaded ravioli with freshly made marinara sauce. They also have sandwiches like the meatball sandwich, which looked amazing and smelled even better, and pastas like the LA Pasta with penne, sausage, onions, and red peppers. Most notably was their selection of specialty pizzas with house made crust and fresh tomato sauce. They have their own brick oven and you can taste the difference! We decided on the breaded ravioli to start. It was crisp and lightly brown on the outside, inside it had a mix of cheese and lovely fresh herbs. It was accompanied by a generous dish of beautifully rich marinara sauce that had fresh ribbons of basil throughout. The ravioli quickly disappeared and we found ourselves eating the leftover red sauce all on it’s own. I’ll go back just for the sauce!
IMG_0392
Next our pizzas were brought out in all their glory. I ordered the specialty cheese pizza with portabella mushrooms. It had mozzarella, feta, and gouda dripping from the cripsy crust. It was one of the best pizzas I have ever had! I felt like standing up and clapping when I saw it and after I finished it!
IMG_0393
My hubby got the Mardi Gras pizza that had mozzarella, pancetta, black olives, pepperoni, ham, and salami. The saltiness of the olives really made the pizza. He told me that it was the best pizza he’s ever had. We don’t live too far from Chicago so he’s had his share of pie and he said this was the best.
IMG_0394
While we ate we enjoyed watching the chef prepare his creations in the open air kitchen. The staff was attentive and very friendly! If you’re ever in Foley, Alabama or near it I highly recommend stopping at Portabella’s for some freshly made food and great service. The place is small and the decor is simple but the food is outstanding!

Portabella’s
321 McKenzie Street
Foley, Alabama
36535

Price Rating: $$

One Comment Add yours

  1. dfpotten says:

    Thanks for the leftovers. They were very good but there’s nothing like a fresh-from-the-oven pizza. We’ll have to try this place while we’re here.

Leave a Reply

