Alabama Vacation: Shrimp Basket

We have arrived in Foley, Alabama! Our long awaited vacation to see my dad and stepmom has finally begun and we are already in vacation bliss. From the beautiful condo we are staying in to our first meal it’s been a marvelous trip so far, and it’s only the first day.

After we arrived and got settled in we began to mull over dinner options. My hubby immediately called out seafood as his vote. We all agreed and the men were off to get the grub. My dad mentioned they were getting the food from a place called the Shrimp Basket. This is my first trip to the Alabama coast so I was trusting in him to bring us back some tasty eats.

While they were gone my stepmom, son and I enjoyed the warmth of the sun on the patio. It was around 55 degrees F which is hot compared to the frigid temperatures of Illinois. Also, my sister in law mentioned to me that I may see dolphins, so I caught myself glancing over to the water from time to time in expectation. The sky was a vibrant blue and the grass still green and lush in spots. It’s truly beautiful here!
photo
When the guys returned with the grub we dove right in. I had my usual seafood fare, fried shrimp, hush puppies, onion rings and coleslaw. The onion rings were huge and delicious. The thickly sliced onion was surrounded by a crust that was crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. These rings are in my top 5 for sure! My shrimp were medium in size and the breading was crunchy and not too oily. I especially enjoyed the kick from the generous black pepper. The hush puppies were small but packed with flavor. They too had a kick of black pepper in the batter.
20140213-214626.jpg
My Dad had the crab cakes with a Cajun style remoulade sauce to dip or go over the top. For his sides he chose coleslaw and steamed cabbage. He described the portions as abundant (3 cakes per order) and raved about the southern style hush puppies. The steamed cabbage was well cooked he told me and he enjoyed the addition of shrimp in the creamy coleslaw.
IMG_0378
My stepmom enjoyed the fresh whitefish on a bed of white rice. She also chose the shrimp étouffée. She described the étouffée as a very flavorful “shrimp gravy”, and she equally enjoyed the fish.
IMG_0379
My hubby got the fried okra and fried crawfish tales. While the fried okra was just “okay”, the fried crawfish was crispy and it was paired well with the shrimp étouffée. He dunked most of his meal in the étouffée!

After our meal we were full and happy and ready for bed! Tomorrow is another day of food exploration and time with family. Who could ask for more!

Shrimp Basket
1500 McKenzie St.
Foley, AL
36535

Price Rating: $$

One Comment Add yours

  1. thehungrymum says:

    ALL of that feast looks & sounds great! Yum.

Leave a Reply

