Cheesy Omelet Muffins

Today I was up with the sun. Thoughts of breakfast began to roll around in my brain, still clouded by sleepiness. I knew I wanted to make my son something healthy and quick. Did I have what I needed was the question. I was too sleepy (lazy…ha ha) to head to the store just yet, so instead I headed to the pantry and fridge to see what they had to offer. I procured eggs, a few slices of turkey bacon, less than half a bag of frozen hash browns, and some frozen veggies. I unloaded the jumble of ingredients onto the counter and began to ponder over my next move. I remembered seeing someone use muffin tins to bake eggs. My foodie lightbulb went off…I would make little omelet muffins!

Image

I didn’t follow a recipe this time. I just used what I had on hand and guessed on measurements. I started by preheating my oven to 350 degrees and greasing a muffin tin with cooking spray. Step One: I scrambled my 6 eggs (use 10-12 for a full batch of 12 omelets) and seasoned with salt and pepper. You could also try a little garlic powder or salt. Step Two: I set aside the eggs and began to cook the turkey bacon. (While the meat was frying in the pan I went ahead and thawed my frozen broccoli in the microwave.) When the bacon was cooked I transferred it to a cutting board and gave it a rough chop. Step Three: I set the thawed broccoli on a paper towel and squeezed out any excess moisture. I did the same thing to the hash browns once they thawed. I cut up any larger pieces of broccoli and then began to assemble my omelets. Step Four: I put down a thin layer of thawed hash browns in the wells of the muffin tin. Step Five: I sprinkled in the cut up broccoli and turkey bacon. You can use whatever you have on hand. A mixture of spinach, mushrooms and feta sounds yummy! Step Six: I took the eggs I had scrambled and poured them from their bowl to a measuring cup. It made it much easier to pour into the muffin tin this way. I filled the muffin tin cups up halfway with the egg mixture. Step Seven: I generously added cheddar cheese on top for a nice cheesy crust. Step Eight: I placed them in a 350 degree oven for 12 minutes. I took them out when the cheese was bubbly and the edges began to turn golden brown. Tip: Make sure they cool completely before you store them.

Image

When the muffins came out of the oven they smelled wonderful. I had achieved the cheesy crust on the top just as I planned, and the egg was so light and fluffy it reminded me slightly of a soufflé. (Next time I think I will try a batch using only eggs whites.) I sliced one open and let the steamy egg and bacon aroma waft up to my nose. It was divine breakfast lovin’ from the oven!

Image

 

My son loved his broccoli and turkey bacon cheesy omelet. He gobbled up every crumb! I think I can add another creation to the list of recipes I’ve come up with in a pinch! Now to think about lunch…oh wait I’ve got that covered! We’ll have a fresh spinach salad and leftover cheesy omelet muffins.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. This recipe looks and sounds like pure genius. A one dish healthy breakfast to grab and go or dress up for a company brunch. I love quick egg dishes and this one looks easy and healthy. True test: Does the toddler like it? Apparently YES. I loved the step by step directions, it made it clear. Thanks for a great recipe!

    1. Thank you! Let me know how yours turns out. 🙂

  2. Nancy Gaumer says:

    I am so making these! I was just looking for a recipe!
    Nancy

  3. dfpotten says:

    Wonderful combination Becca and just with ingredients available in your fridge! Great description as well. We’ll be home soon so you can mix up some for us. Love you… Dad

    1. Sounds good to me…can’t wait to see you guys!

  4. I love these little individual bite sized omelets!! Great idea

    1. Thank you and thanks for reading! The best part is they are super easy and you can use whatever you have on hand.

Leave a Reply

