Cream and Flutter

While I was living in Germany for a short time in 2006 I fell in love with the bakeries there. The fresh smells would tempt my senses and invite me in to sample all of the buttery pastries and vast array of breads they had to offer. Since returning to the States I have yet to find a bakery in my hometown of Champaign that satisfies me in the same way. Thankfully last weekend I found a unique and tasty substitute.

Image

Cream & Flutter is sweets bakery/cocktail bar in Downtown Champaign. It didn’t quite have the ambiance of a european bakery, but it certainly had the lovely smells of baked confections wafting around the place. The drinks looked tasty too! The ambiance was more whimsical and urban than old world. It was brightly lit and had fabulous indie music playing softly in the background.

Image

Image

I was excited to sample something so I quickly ordered a red velvet cupcake and so did my hubby. I would have tried more but I was positively stuffed from our dinner at Alexander’s Steakhouse. I also helped myself to the complimentary ice water they offered. We sat down by the window and began to unwrap our sweet treats. The cake was chocolatey and had a nice texture, but the frosting was the star. It was delightfully fluffy and had just the right balance of tang and sweetness. I have yet to achieve a cream cheese icing so pillowy soft. Hmm…I may have to work on that in the near future. So, after I finished my cupcake I immediately wanted another. Even the next day I was craving that unforgettable cream cheese frosting.

Image

I’m very much anticipating my next trip to Cream & Flutter! I may have to buy a few of those red velvet cupcakes to start. (Okay, my mouth is beginning to water.) Even better, they not only bake cookies, cakes and cupcakes they also have gourmet candy and coffee. Go take a taste for yourself and let me know about your experience! In the meantime check out their website to tease your tastebuds. http://creamandflutter.com

Cream & Flutter

114 North Walnut Street

Champaign, IL.

61820

(217) 355-5400

$$1/2

3 Comments Add yours

  1. dfpotten says:

    Sounds like it smells yummy! Thanks for writing about it. Another good blog 🙂

  2. I actually found out about Cream and Flutter from my friend next door, who runs the U of I art gallery downtown directly north of Ceam and Flutter. By the way, the art gallery is Figure One and the director there is awesome. Anyway, you are entirely right about the bakeries in Germany. And, red velvet is my fav now. Can’t wait to have one from Cream and Flutter! And thanks for bringing back those lovely memories of the bakeries in Germany!

    1. I know, I have so many lovely food memories of Germany! I’ll have to check out the gallery next time I get a cupcake. 🙂

Leave a Reply

