Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies with Lemon Icing

Lately, I’ve been craving things with fresh citrus. I of course had to make a sweet lemony treat to satisfy my craving. The cookies came out crispy and light and the icing recipe turned out so velvety and luscious you’ll have to stop yourself from eating it with a spoon. I hope these lemony iced cookies become a staple for you and your family too!

Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies

2/3 cup or 12 tbsp butter, softened

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

1 egg

1 tablespoon skim milk

2 teaspoons of vanilla

2 cups all-purpose flour

Lemon Icing

1 tbsp freshly grated lemon zest

3 tbsp butter, softened

3 cups confectioners sugar, sifted

1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice, freshly squeezed

1 tbsp water

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

In a large bowl beat the butter on medium high for about 30 seconds. Add the sugar, salt, and baking powder.

Image

Beat until combined. Make sure to scrape the sides of the bowl to get all the ingredients combined.

Image

Beat in the egg, soy milk, and vanilla until combined.

Image

Image

Beat in the flour gradually. Finish stiring in flour by hand if the dough gets too stiff for the mixer. Divide the dough in half and cover. Chill for 30 minutes.

Image

On a floured surface roll half of the dough at a time until 1/8 of an inch thick.

Image

Using the cookie cutter of your choice, cut into desired shapes. I don’t have a round cookie cutter so I used a glass. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet 1 inch apart.

Image

Image

Bake at 375 degrees for 7-8 minutes or until sides and edges are light brown. Transfer cookies onto a wire rack and cool completely.

While the cookies are cooling start the icing. In a medium bowl cream the softened butter with the lemon zest.

Image

Image

Add one cup of the sifted powdered sugar and blend.

Image

Add lemon juice and water and combine. Add the rest of the powdered sugar gradually and beat smooth after every addition.

Image

Frost the cookies once they are completely cool.

Image

Image

2 Comments Add yours

  1. So, some people know my first word was “cookie”, and my mom could say it just the way I did it when I was 2. Still, my very favorite food is a homemade cookie, and actually sugar is my favorite. Imagine my pleasure when I found out these were frosted in lemon icing with real lemon zest (a must in real lemon taste), and I got an invitation to stop by to taste test! Yes, such a deal after a long day at work, and lemon is one of my favorites, especially in the spring!
    The cookie was fabulous—light, crispy, with lemony icing the color of butter. Cookie delight! I am going to make these soon!

Leave a Reply

