Savory Crepes with Spicy Sriracha Mayo

I lived with my brother in Germany for a time back in 2006. During a trip to Berlin, we stopped by a mall for lunch and shopping. In the center of the mall there was, what we would call in America, a food court. This food court however was on a different scale entirely. There were shiny carts where shoppers could enjoy a coffee and little bistros where you could sit and eat a lovely sandwich on a fresh baguette. What caught our eye was the glorious open-air creperie. A creperie is small restaurant in which a variety of crepes are served daily. This one was unique because it had a glass enclosed cooking area with stools set around the perimeter for viewing. It was incredibly fascinating to watch the chefs crafting these delicate little packages of goodies. In America we tend to think of crepes as a sweet dessert, but this experience opened my eyes to all of the delicious savory variations. 

So, today I made crepes reminiscent of the ones I had in Germany. They turned out herbaceous and satisfying. I even added my own spin, a spicy Sriracha Mayo.

Ingredients:

for the Sriracha mayo

1/8 cup of Sriracha

1 tbsp worcestershire sauce

4 tbsp of mayo (or more depending on the level of spice you want)

for the crepe

2 eggs, beaten

1 1/2 cups milk

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 tbsp canola oil

1 tsp Italian seasoning

1/4 tsp Kosher salt

Olive Oil

Instructions:

Start by making the mayo. Mix Sriracha, worcestershire sauce, and mayo together until combined. Set aside.

Image

In a medium bowl combine eggs, milk, flour, cooking oil, salt, and Italian seasoning.

IMG_1536

 

Image

Heat a medium skillet and add olive oil to prevent crepes from sticking (about 1/2 tbsp or so), remove from heat. I used olive oil not only because of the higher smoking point, but also to add to the savory flavor. Use an 1/8 cup measuring cup and pour the batter onto the skillet. Tilt skillet to spread the batter, return to heat.

Image

Cook for 2-3 minutes. Brown on only one side. Invert over a paper towel lined plate. Serve warm.

Image

Image

Spread the Sriracha Mayo over the surface of the crepe.

Image

Add your own fillings and fold. I chose provolone cheese, deli turkey and baby arugula. So tasty! The arugula gave the crepe some nice texture and pepperiness, while the mayo gave it a nice kick.

Image

Image

 

When I ate the crepes I was transported back to Germany with my brother and all the fun times we had. This crepe definitely holds a special place in my heart. It’s a wonderful food memory I’ll never forget.

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. thehungrymum says:

    I adore savoury crepes but mine usually turn out stodgy, not delicate like yours.

    1. I know exactly what you mean! It took years of watching my Mom and husband make crepes before I even attempted it. Haha! Even then it took me years of practice. If you do try again, give these a go and let me know how it turns out. 😉

  2. chef mimi says:

    YUM!!! These look absolutely fabulous!

  3. What in the name of God did we do before Siracha? I have no idea! Great simple recipe using this hot world favorite, Well done.

    1. Thank you! 😀 I totally agree about Sriracha. It’s amazing. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. You always make the best crepes. I need to start eating at your house

  5. Exotic!! Can’t wait to try this, and so happy to hear about that memory with your brother!

Leave a Reply

