Dark Chocolate Goat’s Milk Ice Cream

Last week my family and I visited Urbana’s Market at the Square. It’s the largest open air farmer’s market in Champaign, Urbana and it grows larger every year. I love Farmer’s Markets! The vibrant colors of fresh flowers and produce visually intoxicate me, and I enjoy all of the hustle and bustle of the people buying and selling. It feels encouraging and satisfying to be there with others that adore fresh food as we do. There’s an air of joy and positivity that lightens the spirit. Now it’s an even greater joy to be able to share it all with my family.

On this particular trip there was a small tent selling chocolate goat’s milk gelato. Unfortunately, as quickly as I’d noticed the sign, I noticed the sold out written in big letters next to it. I left feeling disappointed, but I soon found a homemade jam stand that quickly cheered me up.

Ever since the day at the farmer’s market I’ve craved that goat’s milk gelato. I finally decided I would give it try, although I would attempt ice cream instead of gelato. I would also make the flavor a little richer and the color more vibrant by making a dark chocolate version. I was eager to taste the flavor of the goat’s milk in the ice cream. It was a first for me, which always makes me happy.

After the eggs were tempered and the ice cream base was chilled; I poured the mixture into the ice cream machine and said a little prayer. After about 12 minutes it began to turn into a blanket of thick chocolate loveliness. Honestly, it smelled just like a Wendy’s Frosty. Amazing! Once the ice cream maker had worked it magic, I was left with this velvety smooth chocolate dessert that made my mouth water. I admit I tried it right out of the machine. It was decadent and rich with dark chocolate. The goat’s milk left a mild tanginess on my tongue. It married with the dark chocolate beautifully.

The feeling I got when I ate that ice cream, was the same feeling I get when I walk around the Farmer’s Market. I felt complete joy and satisfaction. I hope you try this recipe. I guarantee it will take you to your joyful place!

Instructions:

Image

Combine the goat’s milk, heavy cream, 1/4 cup of the sugar, and the chopped chocolate into a heavy pot. Bring to a simmer whisking constantly so the chocolate gets completely incorporated into the milk. Turn off the heat.

Image

Image

In a medium sized bowl whisk together the eggs and 1/2 cup of the sugar.

Image

Whisk a cup of the hot milk mixture into the egg yolk mixture. This is called tempering the eggs. It’s a way to bring up the temperature of the eggs without curdling or scrambling them. Whisk in one more cup of the hot milk with the eggs. Then pour it all back into the pot with the remaining hot milk and chocolate mixture. Heat on medium high, whisking, until the mixture starts to thicken.

Image

Remove from the heat. Strain into a bowl through a mesh strainer. Whisk in the vanilla.

Image

Chill the ice cream base in the refrigerator, stirring occasionally. You want it to be ice cold when it’s poured into the ice cream machine. (I chilled mine overnight covered with plastic wrap). When the base is ready it will be a velvety chocolate brown color.

Image

Remove the mixture from the refrigerator and pour into your ice cream machine. Freeze according to your ice cream machine’s directions. I used a Cuisinart and it took 25 minutes.

Image

How to Store Your Ice Cream:

After the effort it took to make this delicious ice cream, you want to make sure it stays as fresh as possible. You’ll need something air tight to store your ice cream in. Gather your container, plastic wrap and a spatula.

Image

Place your storage container in the freezer while your ice cream is churning. When the ice cream is done use your spatula and quickly transfer it into the cold container.

Image

Tear off a piece of plastic wrap large enough to cover the top with a little over hang. Place the plastic wrap flush on top of the ice cream.

Image

Gently press down with the spatula to let any air bubbles escape. Put the top onto the storage container and place it in the freezer for at least 2 hours. You can eat it sooner but it will be very soft.

Image

When it’s done just scoop into dishes and cones to serve. Enjoy!

Image

Image

Image

 

Ingredients:

3 cups of goat’s milk (I used pasteurized)

1 cup heavy cream

4 oz. dark chocolate (I used Hershey’s Special Dark)

5 egg yolks

3/4 cup sugar, divided (1/4 and 1/2)

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

 

 

15 Comments Add yours

  1. dfpotten says:

    Yummy! Would love to try that with different flavors. Do you think it might work with fruit?

    1. Absolutely! It would work beautifully with fruit. 🙂

  2. BBQ Al says:

    That looks really good! I love dark chocolate…

    1. Thank you! I know what you mean, dark chocolate is my weakness. 🙂

  3. What a great recipe and resulting ice cream treat. I love the ease of it. Very lovely.

    1. Thank you! It certainly was a rich treat. 🙂

  4. You make this look easy, and I would love to try it!

    1. Thank you! If you try it let me know how it turns out. 🙂

  5. Ice cream yummy.. Perfect summer treat

    1. It was a tasty treat on a very hot day here in the Midwest! Thank you for reading! 🙂

      1. Ya it looked so tasty:)I m sure u must have enjoyed it

      2. I sure did! My son ate the ice cream cone and I ate the ice cream in the dish(es). Haha!

  6. I love ice cream so much.tanx

    1. I do too! You’re welcome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

