Meme’s Fresh Strawberry Pie

Hello friends! Sorry it’s been so long since my last post. This summer has been crazy with parties and weddings! Things have finally settled down for a while so I’ve been cooking (and baking) up a storm again. Last week I actually got to bake in the kitchen with my Mama. It was wonderful, relaxing and long overdue.

When I was a little girl I remember baking pies with my mother every summer. We would go over to the next door neighbors and pick apples from their little crab apple tree and bake them into our pies. I loved helping her peel, slice and arrange the fresh fruit in the pie crust. We did all of this while wearing our matching aprons we’d gotten in London. I felt so special and fancy standing next to my Mom and helping her. We would make apple pies, cherry pies and rhubarb was my very favorite. There is one recipe that my Mama had yet to share with me, and that is Meme’s Fresh Strawberry Pie. We decided this wasΒ the summer to try it. Needless to say I was eager to get baking. The recipe was simple and fun! It takes a short time to assemble and looks gorgeous when it’s all set and ready to eat. I chose to pair it with fresh whipped cream. Yum. The berries were juicy and sweet and the whipped cream was luscious and creamy. Perfection!

While we were baking my Mom told me stories about the recipe and about the ladies that used to bake them. This recipe was very special because it used fresh strawberries instead of canned pie filling. I added only one small ingredient to their original recipe. I’m pretty sure my Meme and great grandmother Nunes would approve. I had an amazing time baking with my Mama and I can’t wait to do again very soon!

 

Ingredients:

For the filling:

1 lb. fresh strawberries, diced

1/8 cup water

1/4 cup granulated sugar (you may need to use more depending on the sweetness of the strawberries)

1 tbsp cornstarch

a squeeze of fresh lemon juice


2 lbs. fresh strawberries, sliced or halved

1 refrigerated pie crust

fresh whipped cream

 

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees fahrenheit. Place your pie crust in the pie plate and crimp the edges.

IMG_2091

IMG_2092

Prick the bottom of the pie crust with a fork. Now, slice one pound of the strawberries into chunks.

IMG_2103

Place the strawberries, water and sugar in a medium sauce pan. Heat on medium high, stirring constantly, for 5 minutes or until mixture bubbles.

IMG_2098

Use a fork or potato masher to smash the berries.

IMG_2094

Mix the cornstarch with a few tablespoons of water in a small bowl. Pour the mixture into the sauce pan with the strawberries.

IMG_2100

Reduce the heat and simmer until the mixture reduces slightly and thickens. Add a squeeze of fresh lemon and combine. Remove from the heat and set aside.

IMG_2102

Take your pie crust and place it in a preheated oven for 8-10 minutes. You want it to turn a nice golden brown.

IMG_2097

This is called blind baking the crust. While the crust is in the oven start preparing the rest of the strawberries. I left a few of them whole but next time I prepare it I will slice them all. It’s much easier to eat that way.

IMG_2089

Cut the berries into large chunks and arrange them in the pie crust.

IMG_2104

IMG_2105

IMG_2109

Next take the cooled strawberry filling and pour it into the pie crust over all over the berries. Refrigerate the pie for at least 2 hours. Once the pie is set, cut it into slices and serve with fresh whipped cream.

IMG_2115

IMG_2121 IMG_2120

7 Comments Add yours

  1. alifemoment says:

    Delicious pie! πŸ™‚

      1. alifemoment says:

        You are welcome!

  2. Becky says:

    Looks so good!!

    On Jun 23, 2014 2:13 PM, “Prairie Palate” wrote: > > prairiepalate posted: “Hello friends! Sorry it’s been so long since my last post. This summer has been crazy with parties and weddings! Things have finally settled down for a while so I’ve been cooking (and baking) up a storm again. Last week I actually got to bake in the kitch” >

    1. Thanks Bex! πŸ™‚

  3. Since I wasn’t sure of amounts, I wondered if it would turn out. Becca had the confidence to forge on, and it worked out great!

  4. Finally! I’ve been anxiously waiting for a new post! Don’t keep me hanging☺ I think this recipe is perfect for the season. I love family recipes they always have a story.

Leave a Reply

