Mini Omelet Sandwiches on Buttery Hawaiian Sweet Rolls

First I would like to start off by sharing some wonderful news with all of you. My husband and I are expecting a baby in the Spring! We are beyond excited and our son Aiden can’t wait to be a big brother.

10478239_10203539809329237_5309773542882003765_n

This big brother is also developing a big appetite just like his Mommy! It’s a good thing too. SInce finding out about the new baby, breakfast has mysteriously gotten larger and larger in portion.

Yesterday morning I was craving something sweet and savory. I thought maybe an omelet with maple syrup? After some contemplation I realized that may not be the best idea. Yuck! I glanced over to the bread on my counter and spotted some Hawaiian sweet rolls. A much better idea I thought. I could make a monster omelet and put it in between these delicious little rolls!

The omelet sandwiches were just what I was craving and big brother gave it his seal of approval! Next time I think I’ll add broccoli and switch the ham out for turkey, just to make it healthier. The filling possibilities are endless! I’m sure I’ll be posting all sorts of crave worthy foods this month.

My heart is so full and so is my stomach!

Ingredients:

2 eggs

3 slices of ham or bacon

4 small slices cheddar Cheese

Butter

Salt and Pepper, to taste

3-4 Hawaiian sweet rolls

 

Heat up a medium skillet on medium-high. Add about 1/2 tablespoon of butter.

photo 2

Once the butter is melted swirl it around to evenly coat the pan, make sure to coat the sides.

photo 1

Crack the 2 eggs into a bowl, I use a large measuring cup for easy pouring, and wisk them together. Season the eggs with a pinch of Kosher salt and pepper.

photo 3

Pour the egg mixture into the heated skillet. Turn the heat down to medium and let cook for a few minutes until set.

photo 13

Flip the omelet over when it releases easily from the skillet. It sounds easy but it can be a real mess if you flip it too soon.

photo

Slice up the cheddar cheese and place on the omelet to do it’s melting magic. I also added a little extra paper at this stage.

photo 6

photo 7

Arrange the ham slices on top of the cheese.

photo 12

Now fold the omelet and remove it from the skillet. Place omelet on a cutting board and slice it to fit the size of the rolls.

photo 5

 

photo 4

Cut the Hawaiian sweet rolls in half using a serrated knife. Place in the pan to toast. There should be plenty of butter left over in the pan. If not just add another little pad.

photo 8

photo 9Β Place the omelet pieces in between the buttery toasted rolls. That’s it! Please enjoy and share pics of your own creations!

photo 11

2 Comments Add yours

  1. ang says:

    I can’t wait to make these. Also can’t believe you’re a food blogger, and it looks like it’s going well. : ) I’ll keep my eye out for some good recipes to share.

    1. Thank you!! I so appreciate your kind words and support! I always wanted to be a food critic growing up but never took the necessary courses in college. My hubby suggested one day that I start a food blog and I’ve been blogging ever since. It’s my true passion alongside singing/playing guitar. I’m so blessed to be able to do both!

Leave a Reply

