Super Moist Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

When I was younger my mama and I would meet at this little place called Pie-full Delights. We would order huge salads and huge pieces of pie and chat for hours about our week. The pies were always delicious and mouthwatering. Not only did I love the fresh pie but I also loved the delicious dessert breads they baked. The beautiful fluffy slices of sticky glazed lemon poppyseed, sweet zucchini, and moist banana bread are still fresh in my memory. 

Sadly, our special place has long since closed and we’ve reluctently found other tasty places around to meet. I’ll always miss those special times though. Maybe someday I’ll open a pie shop here. We need another good local pie shop here in CU!

Last week I was feeling nostalgic so I decided I would bake my own special dessert bread. It turned out incredibly moist and rich! When I bite into it, it transports me straight back to those wonderful times my mama and I spent at our special spot.  It’s an unforgettable food memory that is now celebrated through this delightful recipe. 

Ingredients:

1 cup granulated sugar

1 stick of butter, softened

2 large eggs

4 ripe bananas

1 tablespoon of milk

1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon of baking soda

1 teaspoon of baking powder

1 teaspoon of Kosher salt

1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips

Instructions: 

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees F and butter a 9x5x3 loaf pan. 

Cream together the butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl. Add the eggs one at a time, beat well after you add each egg. 

Mash together the banana, milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla in a small bowl. In a third bowl combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

photo 5

Pour the banana mixture into the creamed mixture and combine. Next add the dry mixture and combine. Make sure not to over mix the batter. Make sure you only stir until the dry ingredients just mixed in. Gently fold in the chocolate chips.

Pour the batter into the buttered loaf pan. Bake for an hour or until a tooth pick inserted in the middle of the loaf comes out clean.  Run a knife along the sides of the pan to ensure the bread comes out in one piece.

photo 4

Cool on a wire rack.

photo 1

I like to serve my banana bread slightly warm and slathered with butter. Delicious!

photo 3

photo 2

5 Comments Add yours

  1. dfpotten says:

    Yum, yum, super moist yum! I’m drooling 🙂

  2. My all time favorite morning bread…banana bread of any kind…toasted or warmed in the oven..with coffee or tea. Love your chocolate addition.

    1. I agree I love banana bread! Thank you!

  3. Christine Muehling says:

    I was given a slice of this great bread as a treat at the end of a long day–wow-is it ever good! We did enjoy the pie shop, but besides good food, time spent together was the best part. Sometimes Meme (Becca ‘s grandmother) would join us.

Leave a Reply

