Roasted Tomato Sauce

I was staring at my tomato covered counter the other day and decided it was time to do something. Most of the fruit was perfectly ripe, while the rest were threatening to become soft and mushy if not used immediately. I had never made tomato sauce with garden fresh tomatoes before, so I decided to give it a try. I eat huge quantities of pasta and tomato sauce daily so I knew it was a worthwhile task to take on. I looked up how to roast tomatoes on Pinterest, and went from there.

The process of roasting made the house smell of sweet tomatoes and garlic that lingered all day. From start to finish this recipe is a treat for the senses.

This recipe is simple and perfect for weekday meals or for making in large delicious batches to store for dinners to come. If you don’t grow your own tomatoes you can aways head to the nearest farmer’s market or use store-bought. I luckily have many friends that grow their own veggies. I gave away bags of rainbow carrots and broccoli this summer, while my friends gifted me various colorful tomatoes and peppers. Growing and giving is good!

What You’ll Need:

2 Pounds Fresh Tomatoes

1 medium onion

4-6 Cloves of Garlic (I use 6 because I love garlic!)

Olive Oil

Salt

Freshly Ground Pepper

Kosher Salt

Italian Seasoning

Red Pepper Flakes (optional)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Gather and wash all of your tomatoes.

IMG_3046

Slice the tomatoes in half or thirds depending on their size. If you’re using little grape tomatoes, just leave them whole and they will gloriously bust open on their own. Place the sliced fruit on a large non-stick baking sheet and spread out into a single layer.

Slice the onion into 1 inch pieces and scattered among the tomatoes.

IMG_3048

Remove the garlic from the skin and, leaving it whole, randomly place around the tomatoes and onions. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt, pepper, and italian seasoning. Now is the time to add the red pepper flakes if you like a nice kick to your sauce. Give it all a quick toss with your hands to coat.

IMG_3051

Place in the oven and roast for 20-30 minutes, turning everything once halfway through cooking time.

When you pull them out of the oven the tomatoes should be soft and juicy, the garlic golden brown and fragrant. The onions will be caramelized and sweet smelling. What a glorious symphony it will be!

IMG_3052

Use a spatula and slide everything straight into a food processor.

IMG_3054

Now would be the time to add more salt and pepper to taste. Pulse until smooth.

IMG_3055

Unlock the lid, lift and let the fragrant cloud of smells surround you. After you bask in the fragrances for a good while, use a funnel and pour the sauce into jars.

IMG_3064

If you’re like me and can’t wait, Β you can also pour it straight over pasta and sprinkle with parmesan and parsley. I had spaghetti on hand this particular day, but I also love this sauce over cheese tortellini or bow ties.Β Buon Appetito!

IMG_3057

10 Comments Add yours

  1. dfpotten says:

    Not only does the recipe appear yummy but the pictures are fantastic. Good post!

    1. Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Cheryl! πŸ™‚

  2. I can almost smell it! Sounds so good, so healthy, and I love the generous amount of garlic! Yes, the pictures are amazing. Having us over to eat this soon, I hope?

    1. Thank you! I’ll make it for you anytime! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you! That means so much to me!! πŸ™‚

  3. Angela says:

    This looks so simply delicious! Can’t wait to make my own pasta sause!

    1. That’s wonderful! Let me know how it turns out. πŸ˜ƒ

Leave a Reply

