Sun Singer Wine & Spirits

It was a beautiful midwestern evening with just a hint of spring in the air. I’d finally gotten away for some girl time and we had just finished our 2 mile run. (There may have been a little walking in there too.) We hopped in the car and opened the windows to let the last of the warm sun bathe our faces. We chatted companionably about the beautiful weather and caught up on each others lives. Β What a perfect evening, and to make it even more perfect we were ending our girl time with wine and dinner at Sun singer. I hadn’t been there in years and I was excited to taste the food and see how the menu had changed. Last time I visited they had a small menu that consisted of soups, salads, meat and cheese plates and sandwiches. Little did I know that things have changed a lot since I was last there. I was in for a real treat!

IMG_7503

As we approached the building I could immediately see that they have a new dining area. We walked through the doors and were greeted by the hostess. We were quickly led to a table in the new dining area. I was happy that I was going to get a chance to see the new space. The first thing I saw was the unique lighting that was created from empty wine bottles. The track lighting looked so pretty shining through the blue and green glass. The bottom of the windows are covered with simple wooden blinds, keeping the top of the windows uncovered to let the light through. The dining room is really lovely.

IMG_7519

After we looked around a bit we got to the business of ordering our food. Just as I thought the menu had completely changed. They now offer appetizers and a full dinner menu. (available after 5pm) I was thrilled! Our waiter Kai greeted us with enthusiasm and began to answer all of our questions about the wine and cheese spread offerings. After we decided on our spreads he suggested a few wines that would compliment them. He was incredibly knowledgeable and attentive. I could tell he was a genuine foodie just like me. We decided on the feisty feta, mixed cheese and sun-dried tomato. It was presented beautifully along side fresh apples, grapes and baguette slices. They were all delicious but my favorite was definitely the feisty feta. It was tangy and salty with a nice kick of spice at the end. The Tiefenbrunner Pinot Grigio we picked complemented the cheeses perfectly.

IMG_7515

For her entree my friend chose The Sun Burger with a caprese salad on the side. The burger is served on a sourdough roll and was slathered with a fresh maple bacon jam, gruyere cheese and topped with lettuce and an heirloom tomato slice. The veggies were crisp and the burger was moist and juicy.Β The caprese salad was fresh and bright.

IMG_7511

I ordered the Buttermilk Chicken. It was a pan seared boneless chicken breast breaded with panko bread crumbs, served with a succotash sauce and roasted heirloom potatoes. The chicken breast was succulent and tender. The breading was golden brown and crispy. The potatoes were cooked nicely and seasoned well. I would order this dish again for sure.

IMG_7513

By the end of the evening we were satisfied by the lavish meal and a little sleepy from the wine. Just the way you should feel after a rewarding jog and a delectable girl’s night feast. I honestly don’t know when we’ll be able to have such a night again, but the memory of this night’s delicious food and inspiring conversation will be enough to get me through. Sun Singer surely is a local gem. I look forward to visiting again soon!

Sun Singer Restaurant Wine Bar

1115 W. Windsor Road Champaign, IL 62521

http://www.sunsingerwines.com

217.351.1115

$$$

2 Comments Add yours

  1. dfpotten says:

    I do like this place in spite of my not drinking wine. Another great article!

Leave a Reply

